Funny But Not…

I received this in my inbox today. I’m sure it is a joke, but it is a sad one. I couldn’t verify it with Snopes, so I’ll just put it here as a “take it with a grain of salt and not too seriously,” sort of thing. There was a name attached, but I’m not including it. I have no idea if it is real or not and am not going to burden someone with phone calls just in case it isn’t. (which I’m pretty sure is the case but you never know…)

Hurry ! ! Hurry ! ! Before It’s Too Late Becoming Illegal
(Actual letter from an Iowa resident and sent to his senator)
The Honorable Tom Harkin
731 Hart Senate Office Building
Phone (202) 224 3254
Washington DC, 20510

Dear Senator Harkin,

As a native Iowan and excellent customer of the Internal Revenue Service, I am writing to ask for your assistance. I have contacted the Department of Homeland Security in an effort to determine the process for becoming an illegal alien and they referred me to you.

My primary reason for wishing to change my status from U.S. Citizen to illegal alien stems from the bill which was recently passed by the Senate and for which you voted. If my understanding of this bill’s provisions is accurate, as an illegal alien who has been in the United States for five years, all I need to do to become a citizen is to pay a $2,000 fine and income taxes for three of the last five years. I know a good deal when I see one and I am anxious to get the process started before everyone figures it out.

Simply put, those of us who have been here legally have had to pay taxes every year so I’m excited about the prospect of avoiding two&n bsp;years of taxes in return for paying a $2,000 fine. Is there any way that I can apply to be illegal retroactively? This would yield an excellent result for me and my family because we paid heavy taxes in 2004 and 2005.

Additionally, as an illegal alien I could begin using the local emergency room as my primary health care provider. Once I have stopped paying premiums for medical insurance, my accountant figures I could save almost $10,000 a year.

Another benefit in gaining illegal status is that my daughter would receive preferential treatment relative to her law school applications, as well as ‘in-state’ tuition rates for many colleges throughout the United States for my son.

Lastly, I understand that illegal status would relieve me the burden of renewing my driver’s license and makin g those burdensome car insurance premiums. This is very important to me given that I still have college age children driving my car.

If you would provide me with an outline of the process to become illegal (retroactively if possible) and copies of the necessary forms, I would be most appreciative.

Thank you for your assistance.

Your Loyal Constituent,

Kind of sad to see something like this passed around as humor, don’t you think? It is no wonder that tensions run so high with the issues of illegal immigration/aliens here in this country.

I know for a fact that while decent law abiding, tax paying, citizens of this country cannot get medical care, illegal’s get all the care they need simply by walking into the nearest emergency room. They do not worry about paying their bills, the tax-payers will do that, they get what they need and leave. We pick up the tab or else the hospitals write it off. With so many of them in this country though, hospitals are facing bankruptcy or closure and all because our system is flawed. We must put the breaks on free services to illegals and encourage them NOT to come here.

Nine More ER’s In Los Angeles Facing Closure

Executives from nine private Los Angeles County hospitals are asking for more money from the county and state taxpayers because of the “influx of the uninsured” into the area and recent closures of other local Emergency Rooms due to finances. Funny how they put it as an “influx of the uninsured” in the article. I personally don’t think a bunch of poor people are moving from the mid-west to Los Angeles County in enough numbers to bankrupt emergency rooms, so I wonder where they’re coming from and why the article doesn’t just state the fact that this “influx of the uninsured” are illegal aliens?

The Medicare Bill’s Illegal Alien Payoff

By Steve Brown and Chris Coon
FrontPageMagazine.com | Monday, December 01, 2003

Inside the much-celebrated Christmas present to seniors from President Bush and Congress—the $395 billion Medicare package—another stocking stuffer went largely unnoticed, one that gouges the taxpayer yet again to benefit lawbreakers. Hidden within the sweeping reforms to Medicare is a provision that would provide $1 billion in federal funds for illegal immigrant health care. The Medicare bill, which swept through Congress , promises to be a centerpiece in President Bush’s re-election plans.

Ailing hospitals worry state budget will force more closures

By CLEM FIORENTINO
STAFF WRITER

March 2, 2008

New Jersey’s hospitals, health-care providers, governmental officials and the uninsured will be forced to make the best of a grim situation in the wake of last week’s budget proposal in which Gov. Jon S. Corzine called for a $108 million reduction in charity care.

Officials at the New Jersey Hospital Association were quick to sound the death knell.

“More hospitals will close, thousands of jobs could be lost, and access to health care will tighten for patients across New Jersey under the proposed state budget,” said Kerry McKean Kelly, vice president of communications for the Princeton-based association, who feared an “access to care” crisis throughout the state.

The list goes on…  Time to stop the free flow of services to illegals.  Stop the freebies and you will help to stem the flow of these illegals into this country.  Just another way to enforce border security…

~ by justmytruth on April 18, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
