Obama, Let His Voting Speak for itself.

This truly went much faster this time around now that I knew how things worked. But I have to tell you, Obama’s voting record is truly *obama*nable! As I was going through his voting record I just couldn’t believe that NO ONE has checked on this or commented on it before.

View the data for yourself obama-vote-xls-document.doc:

A few things that were absolutely incredible to me were:

He voted FOR the Telecommunications Immunity from Civil Prosecution. This means he voted AGAINST you and I and our privacy! It seems a corporate entity means more to him that We the People. And yet he wants to be our Next President? Not for this voter!

He voted FOR FISA as an exclusive means of spying on YOU and I!

Project Vote Smart’s Synopsis:

Vote to adopt an amendment that states that the Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Act is the exclusive means by which surveillance can be conducted on domestic wire, oral, or electronic communications.

Domestic, NOT international, DOMESTIC WIRE, ORAL OR ELECTRONIC. That means your internet, your phone, and your cable PLUS your spoken word. How are those apples tasting?

What blew me away just as much was all the things he didn’t bother to vote AT ALL about. Things our Next potential President SHOULD care about if you ask me. Things like, oh I don’t know, Trade with Peru, where Mexican trucks can drive on U.S. Highways, National Defense Authorization, CHIP, Guantanamo Detainees, Intelligence Authorization Act, and more. I have to wonder just what he was doing when these items came up for voting.

Pardon me, but it is our DUTY to vote as Citizens of these United States. And being elected to Congress, one would think that you would take advantage of this DUTY for which you have been Elected. Obviously Senator Obama doesn’t believe this to be true. Else, why did he not vote at all OVER 50% of the time? Was he sleeping?

The Citizenry of the United States of America needs to STOP looking at pretty packages, listening to rousing speeches which prove NOTHING, and LQQK at what Senator Obama HAS done already. To me this is a good indication of what he can be counted on to do in the future. I certainly don’t trust anyone who says it is OK to spy on me in my own home. Shouldn’t I have to DO SOMETHING first? I mean, aren’t we supposed to be PRESUMED INNOCENT? Not according to Senator Obama’s voting record.

I still believe in my right to speak my mind. Is all you want a sexy smile and a pretty face? Frankly, I need substance for a Commander and Chief. I need a leader who believes in the sanctity of the Citizens of this Country! I need a leader I can look up to, not one who says one thing and does something else. Let’s face it, we’ve just had 7 years of that!

~ by justmytruth on February 29, 2008.

16 Responses to “Obama, Let His Voting Speak for itself.”

  1. Yup, which is why I’m having trouble tracking this too, LOL! I’ve read SO many of these with doing this twice already, and currently doing it again for McCain, that I’ve started dreaming about these bills and amendments. Now if you don’t think THAT is a nightmare!!!

  2. OK, I admit it. I’m totally confused now. In one place Obama voted yes on a bill that does give protection to the telecoms; in another place he voted yes on a bill where the telecom immunity was struck out.

    So now you have wonder if he even thoroughly read what he was voting on.

    And this is why most people haven’t a clue………..you can’t keep this stuff straight and it’s written in such a way you can’t even be sure about what the hell it’s saying most of the time.

    But I am enjoying watching this volleying between you too. It’s a very good show indeed LOL 🙂

  3. Each one of those little paragraphs inside those “bills” pertain to that bill, amendment, etc.

    That Obama DID NOT VOTE on that bill is bad. He didn’t vote yes, he didn’t vote no, he didn’t vote at all. And in MORE than 50% of the time he was able to vote, he didn’t bother.
    Explain to me how you think this is a good thing? He was elected to the Senate to speak for his State, yet he chooses NOT TO. And you think he is going to have your needs on his mind as president?

  4. From Votesmart:

    “Vote to pass a bill that expands the Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Act, including allowing electronic surveillance of foreigners outside the U.S. without a court order and granting immunity to electronic communication surveillance providers.”

    Obama did not vote on this bill. He voted NO to immunity and voted YES on making FISA the only way to tap communications where one party is in the US.

    He did this because Mr. Bush (I refuse to call him President) was circumventing FISA with garbage like the Protect America Act (http://votesmart.org/issue_keyvote_detail.php?cs_id=14626).

    FISA, while not perfect, provides a lot more protection than what the Protect America Act does.

    Also, the old 1978 FISA allowed warrantless wiretaps for a few days as well.

    I’m glad you don’t think I’m being a jerk, ’cause for once I’m not trying to be one lol! 🙂

  5. And James,

    I don’t think you are a jerk.

  6. James,

    Paragraph 2 of the FISA bill is the one we are objecting to. It states:

    -Allows the Attorney General to authorize the emergency employment of electronic surveillance for up to 168 hours without a judicial order (Sec. 105).

    This is the one that President Bush has used to excess and used on the American People. While I have NO objection to President Bush’s use of wire, oral, or other means of surveillance for those of KNOWN terrorist groups, he has used this on U.S. Citizens. THIS is MY objection. So long as the Rule of Law is abided, I have NO objections. But FISA as it is now circumvents the Law.

Leave a Reply

 
